Periodontics

Periodontics

Periodontics

Periodontics is the branch of dentistry that deals with the gums and their underlying tissues, ie. the support structures of teeth. It’s important to maintain healthy gums without periodontal pockets in which bacteria may build-up. Plaque and tartar build-up above or below the gum line is the main cause of periodontal disease. Regular scaling and polishing helps maintain a healthy periodontium and reduces the risk of many diseases. Scientific reports have established a link between periodontal disease and the following  elements: the immune system, cardiovascular diseases such as bacterial endocarditis, stroke, or heart attacks, respiratory disease, and uncontrolled diabetes.

The patient must take responsibility for their at home care and exhibit proper oral hygiene. Otherwise, periodontal treatments will only be a temporary fix for their underlying problem.

Periodontics is the discipline that treats, among other things, gingivitis. Untreated gingivitis can lead to periodontal disease. Periodontal disease occurs when the inflammation spreads to the attachment apparatus and underlying alveolar bone, causing irreversible bone loss around the teeth.

Periodontal disease may be treated in the following different ways, depending on its severity: scaling and root planing, curettage, gingivoplasty or gingivectomy, laser treatments, or gum and/or bone grafts.

Periodontics

Gingivitis

Gingivitis is, by definition, inflammation of the gums, and is the first phase of periodontal disease. If controlled by regular hygiene recalls and adequate oral hygiene measures, it may be reversed.

Gingivitis is caused by the accumulation of plaque. If plaque is not regularly cleaned off with a toothbrush and floss, bacteria will stick onto it and begin to multiply. Next, they will secrete toxins that may cause infections. To counter this, the body’s immune system sends its own cells that then attack the individual’s own infected tissue. Gingivitis presents as inflamed and red gums that may bleed when touched, brushed, flossed, or even when eating. It may be caused by a change in hormones, which may occur, for example, during pregnancy or puberty. Gingival response to plaque may be more exaggerated in these teens and pregnant women because their immune system is more active and responsive to bacteria. These patients require special attention.

Periodontics

Periodontal disease

Periodontics 1

Periodontal disease (or periodontitis) is the disease of the gums and their underlying tissues that support teeth:  the cementum, the periodontal ligament, and the alveolar bone. More significant changes occur in periodontal disease such as irreversible bone loss, and there is more significant plaque and bacteria that may build up between the tooth and the gums. This may lead to the following: inflammation, bleeding, halitosis (bad breath), gingival pain, periodontal abscesses, or mobile teeth.

Periodontal disease is diagnosed through clinical exams and radiographs, but more importantly by a complete periodontal exam, which includes measuring pocket depths by probing the teeth. Probing and determining the osseous architecture allows us to propose the appropriate treatment for your periodontal disease. Patients with generalized periodontitis require recalls at a 3-month interval.

Periodontics

Treatment of periodontal disease

Periodontics 2

Treating periodontal disease is more complicated than treating gingivitis. It requires a cooperative patient, as the follow-ups are more rigorous – patients are seen every 3 months. Treatments include: scaling and root planing, curettage, disinfection with pharmaceuticals and/or lasers, gingivoplasty, or gingivectomy.

When periodontal disease is refractory to treatment, antibiotics may be added. When the patient presents with recession, or lack of attached gingiva, we may suggest allogenic grafts, or autogenic grafts such as: free gingival grafts (FGG), or connective tissue grafts (CTG). If there’s a deep bony defect, we may suggest a bone graft by the means of guided tissue regeneration (GTR) and/or platelet rich fibrin (PRF), which promotes tissue formation and better healing.

Neglected periodontal disease may lead to: multiple areas of gingival recession, tooth loss, sensitive and/or mobile teeth, deformed dental arches, periodontal abscesses, or even total tooth loss.

Patients should be seen at least every 6 months for preventative care in order to avoid and allow early detection of periodontal problems.

(450) 663 0133

Need Emergency Help? Call Us!

Parodontie

Parodontie

Parodontie

La parodontie est la branche de la dentisterie qui traite tout ce qui est afférent aux tissus de la gencive, les tissus sous-jacents et les tissus de soutien des dents. Il est important de garder une gencive saine sans poches parodontales qui accumulent les bactéries. Bien sûr, la présence de la plaque, du tartre au-dessus et/ou en-dessous de la gencive est la cause principale des maladies parodontales. Un détartrage et un polissage professionnel régulier aide à garder votre parodonte en santé et de prévenir des maladies multiples. Le lien entre le système immunitaire, les maladies cardiovasculaires (endocardite bactérienne, infarctus, AVC), maladies respiratoires, dérégulation du diabète et la maladie parodontale est documenté par des recherches scientifiques.  

Également, il est de la responsabilité du patient de veiller à garder une bonne hygiène buccodentaire. Dans le cas contraire, les traitements dentaires peuvent avoir un succès temporaire.

La parodontie est la discipline qui traite, entres autres, la gingivite. Cette dernière est l’affection la moins sévère et une des premières phases de la maladie parodontale. Cette branche de la dentisterie traite aussi la parodontite, lorsque la maladie des gencives atteint l’attache gingivale, l’os alvéolaire et cause une perte osseuse autour de la dent.

Dépendamment du type de parodontite, celle-ci sera soignée par un ensemble de traitements: un détartrage supra et sous-gingival, un surfaçage des racines, le curetage des poches, une gingivoplastie / gingivectomie, un traitement au laser ou même des greffes gingivales et osseuses.

Parodontie

Gingivite

La gingivite est une inflammation de la gencive qui est la première phase de la maladie parodontale. Si elle est contrôlée par des mesures d’hygiène adéquates, cet état devient réversible.

La gingivite est causée par la plaque dentaire. Si la plaque n’est pas retirée sur une base quotidienne à l’aide d’une brosse à dents, les bactéries colleront sur la plaque et commenceront leur multiplication. Par la suite, les bactéries sécrètent des toxines et provoquent des infections. Le système immunitaire va à son tour se protéger en envoyant des cellules qui s’attaquent à son propre tissu infecté. La gingivite se manifeste par l’inflammation et la rougeur des gencives, des saignements au toucher, au brossage et au passage de la soie dentaire et même pendant la mastication.

La gingivite peut être causée aussi par un surplus hormonal pendant la grossesse ou dans la période de puberté. Les réactions sont plus fortes chez les adolescents et chez les femmes enceintes, car le système immunitaire est plus actif et se défend plus fortement contre la présence des bactéries. Un soin particulier leur sera donc procuré.

Parodontie

Parodontite

Parodontie 1

La parodontite est la maladie des gencives et de l’appareil de soutien de la dent qui implique des changements plus profonds au niveau de la gencive, des ligaments dentoalvéolaires et une perte d’os alvéolaire. Quand la maladie parodontale évolue, l’accumulation de la plaque entre la dent et la gencive est plus profonde, ce qui entraîne de l’inflammation, un saignement, de la mauvaise haleine, de la douleur gingivale, des abcès et de la mobilité aux dents.

La parodontite est diagnostiquée grâce aux examens cliniques, aux radiographies et plus spécifiquement, par un examen parodontal complet. Ces examens plus élaborés consistent en une exploration des poches parodontales et par l’analyse de l’architecture osseuse et gingivale afin de proposer le traitement le plus approprié. Une parodontite généraliséedemande un suivi à tous les 3 mois.

Parodontie

Traitement de la parodontite

Parodontie 2

Le traitement de la parodontite est plus complexe qu’un traitement de la gingivite. Il demande une bonne coopération avec le patient, car les suivis sont plus rigoureux. On voit les patients à tous les 3 mois. Le traitement inclut le détartrage supra et sous-gingival, le nettoyage, le surfaçage radiculaire manuel, le curetage des poches, la désinfection avec des produits pharmaceutiques et le laser, la gingivoplastie ainsi que la gingivectomie.

Dans des cas d’infection réfractaire, les antibiotiques sont rajoutés. Pour certains cas de récession gingivale ou de manque de gencive attachée, on pourra procéder à des greffes allogéniques, autogènes libres (GAL) ou greffe de tissu conjonctif (GTC). En cas de défaut osseux profond, on pourra procéder aux greffes d’os par une RTG (régénération tissulaire guidée) et/ou par d’autres techniques dont le PRF (plaquettes riches en fibrine). Ces dernières favorisent la formation tissulaire et une meilleure guérison.

Les cas de maladie parodontale négligée mènent aux récessions multiples, aux déchaussements, à la sensibilité et à la mobilité des dents, à des déformations des arcades dentaires, à des abcès parodontaux et la perte totale des dents.

Un examen aux 6 mois avec des soins de prévention est suggéré à tous les patients afin de prévenir les problèmes parodontaux.

Mieux vaut prévenir que guérir!

(450) 663 0133

Urgence dentaire? Appelez-nous!