Prosthodontics

Prosthodontics

Prosthodontics

Prosthodontics is the branch of dentistry that involves replacing missing teeth with fixed prostheses according to your remaining dentition and the technical possibilities in the following ways :

Veneers
Crowns (caps)
Bridges
Implants
Implant supported complete dentures

Certain situations require us to use removable dentures. The options are: complete dentures, implant supported complete dentures, and removable partial dentures (RPDs).

Prosthodontics

Removable dentures

Prosthodontics 1

This category includes removable complete dentures and removable partial dentures (or “partials”).

A complete denture is a removable denture made from acrylic and is used in edentulous patients, ie. patients who have no remaining teeth in their dental arch.

Removable partial dentures are also used to replace teeth, but are indicated when the patient is not completely edentulous. They are held in by metal clasps that grip onto the remaining teeth. They are removed for hygiene measures and also at night. This is a solution to replace missing teeth in patients who cannot have dental implants. It’s also one of the less expensive options.

All removable dentures are fabricated in a dental lab. In order to do so, a mould of your mouth is taken. This process can be quite lengthy and requires multiple appointments and try-ins before processing and finishing may be done.

Complete dentures are proposed when there aren’t enough remaining healthy teeth to consider another option. There has been a lot of progress in this field of dentistry and our complete dentures will fill out your needs.

Finally, there’s the option of implant-supported removable dentures. Exploring this as an option requires a lengthy prosthodontic exam, which includes taking moulds to articulate models and taking a 3D scan called a CBCT. Implants improve mastication and comfort.

Prosthodontie

Fixed prostheses

Prosthodontics 2

Fixed prostheses include any indirect restoration that is cemented directly onto healthy tooth structure and include: crowns, veneers, onlays, inlays, or bridges. Bridges may be tooth-supported or implant-supported.

Prosthodontie

CAD/CAM

Prosthodontics 3

Endodontically treated teeth (teeth with RCTs) are more fragile than non-endodontically treated teeth. To avoid fractures, and to increase resistance to the forces of mastication on this tooth, we suggest crowning these teeth.

At Centre dentaire Birca, we use CEREC CAD/CAM technology to fabricate custom-made crowns and bridges in one sole appointment so that the patient may save time. Forget multiple local anesthesia injections and messy impression materials! Our intra-oral camera captures the prepped area and a 3D virtual model is created on the computer. This data is transferred to a machine that is programmed to mill the crown from a block of ceramic.  It is then glazed in a specialized oven, which can reach a temperature of up to 1000ºC, to give the tooth a natural-looking shade. Then, the crown may be delivered and cemented on the appropriate tooth with a durable cement.

Bridges, or fixed partial dentures (FPDs) are used to replace one or multiple missing teeth. They are composed of abutment crowns, which are supported by teeth or implants, and pontics, which replace the missing teeth.  If the bridge is tooth-supported, then the teeth on which it rests must be prepped in the same way a tooth is prepped to receive a crown.

Prosthodontie

Implant-supported fixed prostheses

Prosthodontics 4

When a tooth is lost, it’s best to replace it sooner rather than later. This avoids the adjacent teeth from tipping and filling in the edentulous space. Another possible problem is extrusion of the opposing teeth and a loss of the vertical dimension of occlusion. These consequences may destabilise mastication in a slow and insidious process which may become very problematic long-term.

Generally, the best way to replace a missing tooth is with an implant-supported crown. This way, there’s no need to touch the adjacent teeth, which is especially important if these teeth are intact and have no restorations on them. For this reason, there is a lower biological cost for implants than for bridges. Hygiene measures are remarkably easier to maintain with an implant-supported crown in comparison to a bridge because the teeth are separated.  The long-term prognosis for implant-supported crowns is much better than that of a tooth-supported bridge.

(450) 663 0133

Need Emergency Help? Call Us!

Prosthodontie

Prosthodontie

Prosthodontie

La prosthodontie est la branche de la dentisterie qui tient du remplacement des dents manquantes par des prothèses. On remplace les dents selon les possibilités physiologiques et techniques à l’aide des prothèses fixes: soit des facettes, des couronnes, des ponts, des implants ou des prothèses complètes implantoportées vissées.

Certaines situations exigent des prothèses amovibles: des prothèses complètes amovibles (des dentiers), des prothèses implantosupportées sur des implants ou des prothèses partielles amovibles.

Prosthodontie

Prothèses amovibles

Prosthodontie 1

Les prothèses complètes et les prothèses partielles font partie des prothèses amovibles. On les appelle les dentiers.

Une prothèse complète c’est une prothèse amovible en acrylique qu’on utilise dans les cas d’édentation complète quand toutes les dents de l‘arcade sont absentes.

Le but de la prothèse partielle est de remplacer plusieurs dents manquantes. La prothèse partielle amovible est retenue par des crochets métalliques qui s’agrippent aux dents saines voisines. On l’enlève pour dormir et pour la nettoyer. Cette solution est retenue quand il manque beaucoup de dents ou lorsque des implants sont contre-indiqués. Souvent, c’est une solution moins coûteuse.

Que ce soit des prothèses partielles ou des prothèses complètes, les prothèses sont fabriquées au laboratoire à partir des empreintes de la bouche. Pour confectionner les prothèses, on prévoit quelques rendez-vous et essayages.

La prothèse complète est offerte lorsqu’il ne reste plus assez de dents saines pour envisager toute autre solution alternative. Le progrès a fait des bonds prodigieux dans ce domaine. Nos prothèses, d’un naturel exemplaire, vous combleront d’aise.

On peut vous proposer une gamme large de prothèses amovibles supportées par des implants. Pour ce faire, on fait un examen prosthodontique approfondi, un montage des modèles en articulateur et une radiographie volumique: CT Scan en 3D. La solution de traitement avec des implants améliore incomparablement le confort et la fonction masticatoire.

Prosthodontie

Prothèses fixes

Prosthodontie 2

La diversité des appareils dentaires fixés sur les dents naturelles représente les prothèses fixes. Par exemple, les couronnes en céramique, les facettes, les onlays, les inlays ou les ponts sont cimentées sur des dents naturelles. Par contre, lorsqu’une ou plusieurs dents viennent à manquer, on propose un pont qui va se fixer sur les dents adjacentes. Un pont peut se faire sur deux ou plusieurs implants aussi. Ces appareils font partie des prothèses fixes.

Prosthodontie

Couronnes et ponts CAD/CAM

Prosthodontie 3

Une dent ayant eu un traitement de canal et une restauration extensive reste toujours fragile. Pour éviter la fracture et pour augmenter la résistance aux forces masticatoires, on suggère une couronne qui va recouvrir entièrement la dent restaurée.

Au Centre dentaire Birca, on utilise la technologie CEREC CAD/CAM afin de confectionner des couronnes et des ponts sur mesure en un seul rendez-vous. C’est une économie de temps du patient. Oubliez les multiples anesthésies et les matériaux d’empreinte! Une caméra intra-orale capture la région visée. La restauration est ensuite créée en modèle virtuel digital 3D sur ordinateur. La nouvelle restauration est transférée à une autre machine robotisée (centre d’usinage) qui taille la couronne à partir d’un bloc de céramique. Afin d’y donner la dureté et la couleur naturelle souhaitée, on fait un glaçage en mettant la couronne dans un four spécialisé. Ce dernier peut atteindre une température au-delà de 1000 degrés Celsius. Finalement, le dentiste fait la mise en bouche de la nouvelle prothèse fixe avec un ciment durable.

Le pont fixe, qu’on appelle aussi prothèse partielle fixe, peut remplacer une ou plusieurs dents. Ce pont qui est composé des couronnes-piliers et un ou plusieurs pontique est fixé de manière permanente sur les dents voisines. Ces dents qu’on appelle «supports» ou «piliers» seront préparées pour recevoir une couronne.

Prosthodontie

Prothèses fixes sur implants

Prosthodontie 4

Quand on perd une dent, il faut s’assurer de la remplacer le plus rapidement possible par une dent artificielle. De cette manière, les dents restent alignées comme elles le devraient. Cela empêche de causer des problèmes additionnels, comme l’extrusion des dents antagonistes, la bascule des dents voisines et la diminution de la dimension verticale d’occlusion. Ces conséquences peuvent déstabiliser l’appareil masticatoire de manière lente et inaperçue, mais très nuisible à la longue.

Généralement, la meilleure option pour remplacer une dent manquante est un implant avec sa couronne supra-implantaire. Ainsi, il n’est pas nécessaire de toucher aux dents adjacentes pour s’accrocher, surtout quand ces dents sont intactes. Donc le coût biologique est moins élevé que dans le cas du pont sur des dents naturelles. De plus, l’entretien d’une couronne sur un implant est incomparablement plus facile que d’un pont, car les dents sont séparées. Le pronostic à long terme d’un implant est meilleur que celui d’un pont sur les dents naturelles.

(450) 663 0133

Urgence dentaire? Appelez-nous!