General Dentistry

General Dentistry

General Dentistry

Oral health is paramount and often reflects the general health of a person. The mouth is a point of entry for various types of bacteria into the body : certain bacteria may cause periodontal damage and then continue onto the blood circulation and cause infections. The influence that oral health has on general health is significant.

Dental-related diseases such as dental caries (cavities), pulpitis, endodontic or periodontal abscesses, etc. harm patients’ general health. Some may also have a negative psychological effect or have a negative social impact on the patient’s life. For example : halitosis (bad breath), tooth loss, unstable or displeasing prostheses (dentures), speech impediments caused by tooth loss, crooked teeth, abnormalities of occlusion,  misshapen or discolored teeth, etc. Nowadays, looking good is essential to have a good esteem, and a healthy smile has a positive impact on your entourage.

We highly encourage you to consult one of our general dentists so that you may be able to prevent dental disease, or even detect the beginning stages of disease so that you may properly control it.

General Dentistry

Prevention

General Dentistry 1

Oral hygiene is the art of taking care of your teeth, gums and tongue. It’s your best ally in maintaining a healthy mouth.

Whether it be for recall exams, dental x-rays, scaling and polishing, or fillings for your cavities, general dentistry provides everything necessary to prevent dental disease, and to maintain healthy teeth and beautiful smile for life.

Fluoride toothpaste, a manual or electric toothbrush, dental floss, and interdental brushes (Proxabrush, Go-between) are all good tools to help maintain a clean and healthy smile.

We recommend brushing twice daily : once in the morning and again at night before bedtime. Tooth brushing allows you to eliminate plaque thus reducing calculus (tartar) build-up above and below your gums. Failure to do so may result in gingivitis, periodontal disease, and dental caries (cavities).

It is important to pay close attention when brushing, in order to eliminate all food residues and plaque that have been built up on your teeth. Don’t forget your tongue : dead cells may accumulate here and contribute to halitosis (bad breath). Try using a tongue scraper to remove bacteria and dead cells that may build up in this area.

It’s important to see a dentist once every 6 months for early detection of decay and malocclusions. Hygiene recall frequency is determined by the patient’s hygiene and susceptibility to tartar build-up. Some may experience tartar build-up more quickly than others, and those people have a higher risk of developing periodontal disease. Patients with periodontal disease are seen in our office every 3 months rather than every 6 months.

In younger patients, their adult teeth have not yet completely mineralized and are at a higher risk for decay. To help with this problem we perform topical fluoride applications on our younger patients.

The deep, non-smooth areas on the biting surface of teeth are referred to as pits and fissures.  These areas are where decay tends to arise and to prevent that, we recommend placing sealants, which may reduce caries in this area by up to 90%.

General Dentistry

Operative dentistry

General Dentistry 2

Operative dentistry, or restorative dentistry is the art of restoring teeth that are damaged by decay, trauma, erosion, attrition, abfraction, grinding or excessive wear.

Dental caries is an infectious disease. It is caused by sugars found in our diet mixed with the actions of bacteria present in our mouth. Bacteria found in dental plaque destroy first, the enamel, then the dentin of our teeth.

Attrition is when there is wear and a loss of enamel on teeth due to abnormal and repeated grinding (bruxism), or from excessive pressure on teeth. The teeth are crushed by a repeated traumatic action.

Erosion of teeth happens when teeth are in contact with acidic foods or acid from the gastrointestinal tract. Erosion is irreversible and causes permanent damage to enamel. The enamel slowly becomes softened and then becomes susceptible to further wear from brushing or from mastication.

Some people grind their teeth at nighttime, and the forces generated are tremendous. This causes severe abrasion of tooth structure. Generally, affected teeth are restored with composite, porcelain restorations, amalgam, or indirect gold restorations.

General Dentistry

Cosmetic dentistry

General Dentistry 3

Cosmetic dentistry is used to correct imperfections and/or abnormalities of tooth colour and structure.

For example, to correct a small chip on a tooth, to fill a diastema (a space in between teeth), to straighten teeth, or to change the shape or colour of one or multiple malformed teeth due to fluorosis, osteogenesis imperfecta, or tetracylin. One way of doing this is with porcelain veneers – a conservative preparation of the facial surface of the tooth is performed in order to accommodate the veneer.

The classic veneer is an indirect restoration made with porcelain. Also available is a chair-side direct composite veneer. Another example of cosmetic dentistry is tooth bleaching (whitening) which may be of service for patients who are unsatisfied with the shade of their teeth.

Veneers are not always possible however. Sometimes if there is a malocclusion, or a heavily restored tooth, a crown would be indicated. This treatment is a little more complex, since the entire circumference of the tooth needs to be prepared. The tooth is then covered up with a durable ceramic cap.

General Dentistry

Extractions

General Dentistry 4

When a tooth is non-restorable, it is necessary to extract it. There are quite a few situations that may lead to this such as: extensive decay, coronal or root fracture, a considerable periapical abscess, periodontal abscess, considerable tooth mobility, etc.

Primary teeth need not be replaced after an extraction, nor do wisdom teeth. In all other cases, the tooth requires a replacement of some sort because the dental arch becomes asymmetric and less resistant to the forces of mastication. Adjacent teeth may drift and loss bone support. The ability to masticate properly diminishes as well. Loss of anterior teeth becomes a cosmetic issue.

There are 3 options to replace missing teeth: dental implants, bridges, or removable prosthesis. Implant placement requires specific circumstances and may not be done in every case. One condition is sufficient bone volume.

After a tooth is extracted, vertical and horizontal bone loss of up to 40-50% occurs. In fact, it’s the root that maintains bone height. The teeth’s roots are anchored in the jaws and offer a stable base to teeth. When a tooth is extracted, the roots no longer stimulate bone in this area during mastication, and the bone begins to deteriorate. When a patient loses all of their teeth, this considerably accelerates bone resorption in both the upper (maxilla) and lower (mandible) jaws.

When placing implants, it is imperative to have an implant that is long enough and wide enough. To do so requires good bone quality.

Sometimes, bone must be added through a bone graft. A better result is obtained if the graft is placed at the moment of extraction. This allows socket (and bone) conservation.

In order to replace one or many missing lower teeth where there’s not a possibility of doing a bridge, we use removable partial dentures (RPDs). We call these cases “distal extensions”. These distal extension RPDs are not tooth borne and are only supported by gums and underlying bone of the edentulous ridge. They will lack stability and also contribute to bone resorption. Poor retention and inadequate mastication are often associated to this type of RPD. They are often uncomfortable because they are massive, as well as unstable during mastication and elocution (speaking). Bone resorption is even more considerable when we’re talking about a complete denture due to the increased pressure on the gums and mucosa and their underlying bone. With this being said, implants are the best solution to this and the best way to restore the edentulous ridge.

Limited bone has already been discussed as a contra-indication. Other contra-indications to dental implants may include high blood sugar, immune problems, poor oral hygiene, high cholesterol and smoking.

In order to properly evaluate whether dental implants are right for you, a 3D scan, also known as a CBCT is necessary. Prior to the implant surgery, models of your jaws and a surgical guide are made. From a physiological point of view, implants are the best solution because not only does this biocompatible material provide a firm anchorage in your jawbones, but it also prevents future resorption of your alveolar ridge.

If you have missing teeth or uncomfortable prosthesis (dentures), we encourage you to make an appointment for a consultation so that we may propose you the best treatment for you.

General Dentistry

Periodontal surgery

General Dentistry 5

At Centre dentaire Birca, we offer free gingival grafts (FGG), connective tissue grafts (CTG), or Alloderm tissue grafts to either cover recession or to protect teeth from further recession.

General Dentistry

Endodontics

General Dentistry 6

Endodontics includes root canal treatments and the retreatment of previously treated teeth. A root canal treatment (RCT) is necessary when the nerve of the tooth is exposed by caries or fracture, or otherwise an abscess may develop.

During a root canal treatment, an access to the nerve is drilled, the nerve is removed, the canals are cleaned and shaped, and are then filled with a biocompatible material. After the RCT is completed, we recommend placing a crown on the tooth in order to protect it from fracturing.

There are various causes of an infected dental nerve. Likewise, there are various symptoms that may be associated with this. These may include: sharp nocturnal pain, throbbing pain, or sensitivity to hot foods, cold foods, biting or even to touch. When the pulp of the tooth presents irreparable damage, RCT is indicated. Sometimes this happens and there is an absence of pain. One way to diagnose this is with X-rays. An asymptomatic tooth is not always a healthy tooth. Early detection is important in order to save the tooth.

Frequently, caries may recur underneath old restorations. If this decay becomes sufficient deep and lies in close proximity to the nerve, there is a high risk that the bacteria may have reached this area. Often this is a painless, but latent infection.

Dr Birca has been passionate about endodontics (as well as orthodontics and periodontics) for a long time.

General Dentistry

Prosthodontics

General Dentistry 7

Prosthodontics is the branch of dentistry that deals with replacing missing teeth with dental prostheses.  Fixed prosthodontics options include: veneers, crowns, bridges, implants, or screw-retained implant-supported dentures.

Certain situations require removable prosthodontics. These options include: complete dentures, removable partial dentures, or implant-supported removable dentures.

General Dentistry

Orthognathic surgery

General Dentistry 8

Orthognathic surgeries, as well as cyst and tumor removal are only practiced in either hospitals or in a specialist’s office. This specialist is commonly referred to as an oral surgeon, or an oral and maxillofacial surgeon (OMFS).

(450) 663 0133

Need Emergency Help? Call Us!

Dentisterie générale

Dentisterie générale

Dentisterie générale

Aujourd’hui, la médecine dentaire générale est pratiquée par des chirurgiens-dentistes. 

La santé buccodentaire est primordiale et souvent elle révèle l’état de santé générale d’un individu. Point d’entrée dans l’organisme pour de nombreux microbes, certaines bactéries pathogènes peuvent causer des dommages dans le parodonte et peuvent se propager directement dans la circulation sanguine et causer des infections. L’influence de la santé buccodentaire sur la santé générale d’un individu est non négligeable.

Les maladies bucco-dentaires tels que les caries dentaires, les pulpites, les abcès endo ou parodontaux etc. nuisent à la santé générale des patients. Certaines maladies peuvent avoir aussi un impact négatif  important sur l’aspect psychologique et social du patient. Notons, la mauvaise haleine (voir la parodontite), la perte des dents, les prothèses inadéquates ou instables, les défauts d’élocution causés par la perte des dents, le chevauchement dentaire, les  anomalies de l’occlusion, les dents ayant des anomalies de couleur, de la forme, etc. De nos jours, le bien paraître est important pour maintenir une bonne estime de soi. Un sourire en santé prédispose à avoir un impact positif sur votre entourage.     

On vous invite à consulter nos dentistes généralistes pour prévenir les maladies bucco-dentaires ou de les dépister dans les phases débutantes avant qu’elle ne deviennent plus avancées. Car mieux vaut prévenir que guérir.

Dentisterie générale

Prévention

Dentisterie générale 1

L’hygiène bucco-dentaire, c’est l’art de prendre soin des dents, de la gencive et de la langue ! C’est votre meilleur allié afin de garder la bouche en santé.

Que ce soit pour des examens cliniques de rappel, des examens radiologiques, des traitements de détartrage et polissage ou d’obturation de caries, la dentisterie générale offre tous les services nécessaires pour prévenir les maladies bucco-dentaires, pour conserver des dents saines et un beau sourire tout au long de la vie.

Le dentifrice, la brosse à dents manuelle ou électrique, la soie dentaire, les brossettes en forme de sapin (Proxabrush, Go-between), et le passe-fil sont les outils qui aident à garder les dents propres et en santé.

Pour une bonne hygiène dentaire, on recommande de brosser les dents deux fois par jour : le matin et le soir avant le coucher. Le brossage des dents détruit la plaque et prévient la formation du tartre supra-gingival et sous-gingival, ce qui à son tour pourrait provoquer la gingivite, la parodontite et les caries.

Pour ce faire, il est important d’éliminer le reste des produits alimentaires pour déloger la plaque dentaire qui se forme naturellement et en permanence à la surface de la dent. On prendra aussi un soin particulier à la surface de la langue où des cellules épithéliales mortes peuvent se former et contribuer à créer de l’halitose ou ce que l’on nomme communément la mauvaise haleine. Il est conseillé d’utiliser un gratte-langue afin de déloger ces vieilles cellules et bactéries.

Il est important de consulter un dentiste une fois par 6 mois pour un dépistage précoce des caries et des malocclusions dentaires. La fréquence des soins d’hygiène dépendra principalement de la qualité d’hygiène dentaire individuelle et de la prédisposition de l’organisme à former naturellement le tartre. Certains individus peuvent accumuler le tartre plus rapidement que d’autres. Ils sont plus à risque de développer la maladie parodontale. Les patients atteints de maladie parodontale sont suivis aux 3 mois.

En bas âge les dents sont encore mal minéralisées suite à une croissance rapide de l’organisme. Pour mieux alimenter les dents et combler leurs besoins en minéraux, on fait l’application du fluor.

Les creux naturels des dents portent le nom de puits et fissures. Les caries ont tendance à s’installer à ces endroits. Cela rend vulnérables les dents permanentes fraîchement éruptées. Le traitement suggéré est le scellement des puits et fissures (SPF) qui prévient la carie à 90%.

Dentisterie générale

Dentisterie opératoire

Dentisterie générale 2

La Dentisterie opératoire ou de restauration est un art de réparer les dents endommagées par la carie, un traumatisme, l’érosion, l’attrition, l’abfraction, le grincement des dents ou l’usure excessive.

La carie dentaire est une maladie infectieuse.

La carie est causée par les sucres présents dans les aliments et l’action des bactéries qui se trouvent dans la bouche. Ces bactéries concentrées dans la plaque dentaire détruisent graduellement l’émail et, par la suite, la dentine de la dent.

L’attrition correspond à une usure dentaire et à une perte de l’émail à la suite de grincements anormaux et répétés des dents (ou bruxisme) ou à des pressions trop importantes sur les dents. Il s’agit d’un broiement et d’un écrasement dû à une action répétée ou à un choc traumatique violent.

L’érosion dentaire est le résultat de l’action directe des acides alimentaires ou gastriques. L’érosion est irréversible et entraine des dommages permanents à la structure de l’émail des dents. La surface de l’émail ramollit rapidement et devient ensuite très vulnérable à l’usure par le brossage ou la mastication.

Certains individus grincent les dents la nuit quand l’organisme est en repos et qu’il n’y a aucun contrôle de la part du système nerveux central. La force développée est énorme. Cette force détruit les dents par une abrasion sévère. Généralement, les traitements des dents touchées sont faits avec du composite, soit, des incrustations en porcelaine, des obturations métalliques en or ou en amalgame.

Dentisterie générale

Dentisterie esthétique

Dentisterie générale 3

La dentisterie esthétique a le but de réparer les imperfections, les anomalies de la structure ou de la couleur des dents.

Par exemple, on aimerait bien corriger l’aspect d’une dent légèrement fêlée, remplir un diastème (un espace entre les dents), changer la forme ou la couleur d’une ou des plusieurs dents malformées (fluorose, ostéogenèse imparfaite, dents de tétracycline) ou rendre plus droites certaines dents. La dentisterie esthétique permet de faire ces corrections en employant divers moyens. La pose de facettes en porcelaine en est un. La facette prévoit une taille conservatrice de la surface buccale de la dent en préservant les tissus sains.

Les facettes peuvent être faites en composite ou en porcelaine. En composite, la facette est faite directement à la chaise. La couleur des dents inesthétiques peut aussi être changée à l’aide de méthodes de blanchiment.

Il y a des contre-indications aux facettes comme des restaurations extensives en composite, l’occlusion trop profonde, etc. Dans ces cas, on pourra vous proposer des couronnes complètes en céramique. Le traitement est plus complexe comme moyen car, il prévoit une taille circonférentielle de la dent. En revanche, la dent sera recouverte par un cap de céramique durable.

Dentisterie générale

Extractions des dents

Dentisterie générale 4

La décision d’extraire une dent vient suite à l’analyse rigoureuse et le rejet de toutes les possibilités de la sauver. Il y a plusieurs causes qui rendent impossible tout traitement de la dent pour la sauver: la carie extensive, les fractures coronaires ou des racines, l’abcès périapical considérable, l’abcès parodontal, une mobilité importante des dents etc.

 Les dents de la dentition primaire ne nécessite pas un remplacement suite à l’extraction. Les dents “de sagesse” ne sont pas à remplacer non plus. Tandis que dans la majorité des cas d’extraction, les dents perdues nécessitent un remplacement, car l’arcade dentaire devient asymétrique et moins résistante aux forces masticatoires. Les dents adjacentes commencent à se déplacer et perdent leur support osseux. De plus,  l’efficacité masticatoire diminue considérablement. Souvent suite à la perte des dents antérieures l’enjeu esthétique devient aussi important. 

Pour remplacer les dents manquantes plusieurs options sont analysées: les implants, les ponts ou les prothèses. La pose des implants est un traitement qui demande plus de conditions favorables. Une des conditions capitale est la présence du volume osseux. 

Suite à l’extraction d’une dent, une perte osseuse verticale et horizontale de 40 à 50% se produit. En effet, la racine de la dent maintient le tissu osseux en place. Les racines des dents naturelles sont incrustées dans la mâchoire fournissant une base stable qui leur permet de fonctionner correctement. Lors d’une extraction ou perte d’une dent, l’os de cette région n’est plus stimulé par les racines lors de la mastication. En conséquence,  celui-ci commence à se détériorer et à fondre. Dans le cas de la perte de la dentition, cela accélère considérablement la résorption de la base osseuse du maxillaire et de la mandibule. 

La condition impérative pour poser un implant d’une hauteur et d’un diamètre adéquat est d’avoir une quantité d’os suffisante.

Pour cela, nous avons souvent besoin de rajouter de l’os par une greffe osseuse. Le résultat est meilleur si on conserve le niveau osseux pendant l’extraction. On combine dans un rendez-vous l’extraction avec la greffe de comblement osseux alvéolaire. Le moment d’extraction de la dent est un excellent moment pour la greffe afin d’éviter la perte du volume osseux.

Pour remplacer une ou plusieures dernières dents de l’arcade inférieure, il n’y a pas de possibilité de faire un pont mais plutôt une prothèse partielle amovible.  On appelle ces cas “ la selle édentée libre”. Donc, la prothèse amovible conventionnelle avec des selles libres va se reposer au distal sur la gencive et va manquer de stabilité. En même temps, ce type de prothèse favorise la résorption osseuse. Cette prothèse n’est pas capable d’assurer une bonne rétention dans la bouche, ni une mastication adéquate. Ces prothèses amovibles sont souvent inconfortables, car elles sont massives et instables pendant la mastication et même pendant l’élocution. Par ailleurs, une prothèse complète peut exercer une pression énorme sur la muqueuse et la gencive, en provoquant, à long terme, une résorption osseuse. Donc, la solution implantaire dans ces cas devient le meilleur moyen pour restaurer l’arcade dentaire.

 La question d’indication et contre-indications est aussi importante : comme on a déjà noté, pour visser un implant dans l’os, il faut avoir assez de volume osseux. L’excès de sucre sanguin, les problèmes d’immunité, l’hygiène dentaire pauvre, le taux de cholestérol élevé, le tabagisme peuvent être des contre-indications en implantologie.

Afin d’établir les possibilités de procéder au traitement implantaire, il est nécessaire de passer un examen rigoureux radiologique : un SCAN 3D (radiographie numérique 3D), nommé aussi imagerie tridimensionnelle par tomodensitométrie volumique à faisceau conique (TVFC). Les préalables à la chirurgie implantaire sont les modèles des mâchoires et un guide chirurgical. Du point de vue physiologique, l’implant devient la meilleure solution, car il est très biocompatible et présente un ancrage ferme mais aussi, c’est un moyen de prévenir la résorption future de la crête alvéolaire.

Si vous avez des dents absentes ou vos prothèses sont inconfortables, on vous invite à prendre un rendez-vous pour un examen. Suite à l’examen fait par nos chirurgiens dentistes, les meilleures options de traitement adaptées à vos besoins seront proposées.

Dentisterie générale

Chirurgie parodontale

Dentisterie générale 5

Dans notre clinique, on offre les services de greffes gingivales libres (GAL), de greffes de tissus conjonctif (GTC) et de greffes au tissu Alloderm afin de couvrir les récessions ou de protéger les dents contre les récessions continues des gencives.

Dentisterie générale

Endodontie

Dentisterie générale 6

L’endodontie inclut le traitement et le retraitement des canaux (traitements des canaux déjà traités auparavant). Le traitement de canal est nécessaire lors d’une exposition du nerf dentaire par des caries avancées, fractures ou dans d’autres cas, sinon, un abcès peut se développer.

Le traitement de canal consiste à faire une cavité d’accès pour ouvrir la dent, retirer le nerf dentaire, nettoyer et désinfecter les canaux à l’intérieur et enfin les obturer avec un matériel biocompatible. Suite à un traitement de canal, il est recommandé de protéger la dent dévitalisée avec une couronne, afin d’éviter le risque de fracture. 

Les causes qui conduisent à l’infection du nerf sont multiples. La symptomatique est aussi très diversifiée. Le patient peut sentir des douleurs aigües nocturnes, des élancements, de la sensibilité au chaud, au froid à la mastication ou même au toucher. Le traitement de canal est indiqué quand la pulpe dentaire démontre des dommages irréparables. Il arrive aussi que la pulpe dentaire cesse de vivre sans douleur. Dans de nombreux cas, le patient ne sent aucune douleur ou malaise. Un des moyens de la diagnostiquer est la radiographie. La dent qui ne fait pas mal, n’est pas toujours en bonne santé. Il est important de diagnostiquer l’infection pulpaire dans un stade initial pour éviter la perte de la dent.

Fréquemment, une carie se réactive en-dessous d’un ancien plombage. Si la profondeur de cette carie est considérable et se trouve à proximité du nerf pulpaire, il y a un risque d’atteinte pulpaire par les bactéries. Souvent, cela se produit sans douleur. Par contre, c’est une infection latente.

Depuis longtemps parallèlement avec l’orthodontie et la parodontie (traitement des gencives), l’endodontie est une des branches de la dentisterie dont Dr Birca est passionné. 

Dentisterie générale

Prosthodontie

Dentisterie générale 7

La prosthodontie est la branche de la dentisterie qui tient du remplacement des dents manquantes par des prothèses. On remplace les dents selon les possibilités physiologiques et techniques à l’aide des prothèses fixes: soit des facettes, des couronnes, des ponts, des implants ou des prothèses complètes implantoportées vissées.

Certaines situations exigent des prothèses amovibles: des prothèses complètes amovibles (des dentiers), des prothèses implantosupportées sur des implants ou des prothèses partielles amovibles.

Dentisterie générale

Chirurgie orthognatique et maxillo-faciale

Dentisterie générale 8

La chirurgie orthognatique et maxillo-faciale des maxillaires, des tissus mous et durs, les chirurgies de résection des kystes et des tumeurs malignes et bénignes des maxillaires est pratiquée seulement dans les hôpitaux et dans les bureaux privés par les spécialistes en chirurgie maxillo-faciales. Ces actes sont réservés aux spécialistes en chirurgie maxillo-faciale.

(450) 663 0133

Urgence dentaire? Appelez-nous!